Nut Bucket Films

One on One with E. Michael Sarki

In Uncategorized on September 18, 2010 at 2:05 pm

someday somewhere

Today I followed Evan out on his photo shoot.  He was shooting Chloe from Next Models.  He has a real “run and gun” type of approach.  He knows what he wants and moves with confidence and swagger.  He’s got a nice sense of humor, even though he would never admit that.  “No smiling!”  He says that a lot.  He is fresh to Los Angeles and spent the past eight years in NYC where he attended NYU and got a Bachelor of Fine Arts with a concentration in photography.  He let me sit down with him after the shoot to ask him a few questions.  So, Here they are…

NBF:  What’s your favorite part of L.A. since you made the move?

E. Michael Sarki:  Without a doubt, waking up next to ocean is pretty amazing.  If I didn’t brew my own iced coffee I would walk to Groundworks everyday and say “what’s up?!” to the locals.

NBF:  What do you miss most about New York?

E. Michael Sarki:  Everything.  Except the weather.  But seriously, being able to get around and access any location whenever I want.  You have to do a lot more planning here in L.A.

NBF:  Where do you see yourself this time next year?

E. Michael Sarki:  What do you mean?  Career?  Location?

NBF:  Both.

E. Michael Sarki:  Well, I see myself booking jobs whether they are  editorial or commercial.  I don’t know where that will take me, but I plan on living anywhere and everywhere.

NBF:  So you aren’t picky?

E. Michael Sarki:  Well I don’t want to live in fucking Iowa.

NBF:  What’s wrong with Iowa?

E. Michael Sarki:  I have never been to Iowa.  I am sure it is a lovely place.  I may have actually played soccer there once but I doubt it.

NBF:  If you could have coffee with anyone you wanted, who would it be and what would you ask them?  One question.

E. Michael Sarki:  Probably Jack White.  And I would ask him if he would mind if I followed him around for a year.  He fascinates me.  He is a very recognizable entertainment figure but stays under the radar and does his own thing.  I respect that.  And he certainly has a look.

NBF:  Assuming you like women, who is your female of choice?  Who is your #1?

E. Michael Sarki:  Is that up for debate?  Penelope Cruz.  I love her.  She just does it for me.  She is maniacal.

NBF:  Give me three words that describe your personality.

E. Michael Sarki:  What is this?  Match.com.  Thoughtful.  Passionate.  Skeptical.

NBF:  I say hangry.  It is a mix of when you are hungry and angry.  I have seen it often.  It is not pretty.

NBF:  Why do you want to Photograph?

E. Michael Sarki:  I like the idea of being able to look back on my life and have it all documented.  It isn’t me in the photograph but I like to think I created that moment.  Everything about that  photograph is me.  I want all of my photos to make you go “Oh, that is E. Michael Sarki.”  I want them to have a clear vision.

NBF:  What is your favorite photograph?

E. Michael Sarki: The Kiss.  I love the symbolism behind it.  I love the randomness.  Those two people had never met prior to that and will never meet again after.  I don’t know if that’s true but I’d like to think it is.  It is one of the most iconic photos in our country’s history.  Makes me think of my Grandmother and Grandfather.

the kiss by Alfred Eisenstaedt/LIFE

NBF:  What did you eat for breakfast?

E. Michael Sarki:  I had two breakfasts. Grapefruit and oatmeal.  Then I had a shoot.  Then I had fried eggs with toast and sausage.

NBF: What’s your favorite day of the year?

E. Michael Sarki:  Not my birthday.  Used to be Christmas.  But being older and no family (kids and wife) kind of changes things.  But I used to look forward to it.  It is still my favorite but I kind of get sad on Christmas.  Last Christmas  I woke up in NYC alone and spent the entire day by myself and it was amazing.

NBF: Shoes or flip-flops?

E. Michael Sarki:  Shoes.  Flip-flops are disgusting.

NBF:  Dress up or Dress down?

E. Michael Sarki:  Always dress up.

NBF:  Do you groom?

E. Michael Sarki:  Yes, of course.  It is 2010 Lije.

NBF:  Do you think a female should groom?

E. Michael Sarki:  If she wants to be with me.

NBF:  If you could shoot anyone tomorrow, who would it be?

E. Michael Sarki:  A portrait of my Grandfather.

Thanks Evan!  Check out his work at http://emichaelsarki.com

Thanks for reading,

Lije and NBF

  1. I never pictured Evan to be a groomer……and where is his picture?

Leave a Reply

