Nut Bucket Films

Life’s a BEACH…zero downtime.

In Uncategorized on November 19, 2010 at 10:20 am

photo by E Michael Sarki. http://www.emichaelsarki.com

Well I wanted to quickly let everyone know that I have not won a million dollars and gone on vacation to Africa to help cure world hunger.  I would LOVE to.  I really would.  That is something my sister did.  Minus the million bucks.

Or Life’s a Peach.

I did NOT book a recurring role on Mad Men.

I have not gotten eaten by a shark paddle-boarding.

I am trying to get my online SCUBA certification done in the next 24 hours.  This is easy but it is time-consuming.  If they didn’t make you take a quiz every three questions!  WTF!  My friend has a friend who knows someone who has a friend that has a cousin that might know how to do the open-water portion of the certification progress once I get to Maui on Monday.  I got another friend who is going to take me to Catalina when I get back to do some scuba diving with the GREAT WHITE SHARK, in a cage of course.

Michigan State University will be in Maui for the Maui Invitational Monday through Wednesday.  I will be attending those games!  HOLLA!!!

I am spending Thanksgiving in Maui.  Well deserved.  Thankfully my pal Keith  has a house there and accommodations are fantastic.  He has a bunch of toys to play with as well.

I have been sitting in front of a laptop editing Closing Doors for 18 of the last 24 hours.  I had also spent the last three days before that setting up my laptop with AVID media composer while taking an extreme crash course in editing on AVID.

I am familiar with Final Cut Pro, but that does me no good when the project was edited by the first two people on AVID.  Unless I start from scratch.  Which would be more time-consuming.

I have had two different editors on Closing Doors so far.  They are both talented as hell and I love them dearly but I have NOT gotten to see the cut I wanted or envisioned as of yet.  The big reason for that.  MONEY!

We have low/no budget for this project and we have no money to pay people for their time, so they have little or no time to help out for free, so we get the best of what we can get from them in the shortest amount of time.  We also get help via NYC and an external office which means I am not present at the time of editing to make changes and share my lovely opinion of how I see the film playing out.

NOW I AM EDITING THE FILM.  These are NOT complaints!!  i am actually really enjoying this.  I just wish I knew a few extra shortcuts but they are coming along the way.

It is cool though.  If you are going to be a true filmmaker you should be able to do it from the beginning to the end.

I just received a new camera two days ago.  A Canon 7D.

So theoretically if I find a sound guy I can shoot a film and finish it all by myself, with a sound guy.  And then I will need some color correction and some score and some music.  But that is close to doing it by myself.

I also have a few other jobs.  One is producing this Pilot called Underbelly with Lauren Ziemski and Ryan Philander.  Ryan wrote and will direct.  I am acting in it.  So is Lauren.  Ryan took a stab at editing Closing Doors.  He is a super talented editor.  He did a great job and I got a lot of ideas from his work.  I am hoping he will make a hybrid between his vision and mine when he gets back from NYC.  It is a Tit for Tat situation.

Speaking of a Tit for Tat situation, you can still donate to the film!  We need your help.  We have a few thousand bucks left to spend on submissions and marketing and it is almost time to spend it.  it you give a measly $25 you get a copy of the DVD and your name on the t-shirt (official) and movie poster (official).  Come on people!!!  That is the best deal on the planet.  Click HERE.  There are a bunch of other perks at the link below.  Also, you can write the donation off!  We are sponsored by a non-profit.  I know you all have taxes to write of for the end or the year.

or here https://nutbucketfilms.wordpress.com/2010/11/11/tit-for-a-tat-closing-doors/

I am trying to get a trailer together to give everyone a taste of the film.  Soon enough!

OK, enough rambling, I need to go back to editing.

I got a haircut.

Love you all,

Lije

Leave a Reply

