Nut Bucket Films

Vertigo, Magic Beans, and the POW POW

In Uncategorized on December 28, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Sierra Mountains at Mammoth Lakes

Talk about an epic day!  I was supposed to go up to Mammoth Mountain tomorrow but due to the twenty-plus feet of snow they got last week, I decided to make the trek a day early.  I left this morning.

I woke up at 3am to take a piss at my home in LA and decided I mine as well just leave for the mountains.  I had my alarm set for 4am.  Let me tell you I didn’t get to go to bed until midnight either.  After a week of work and family and holiday celebrating I was exhausted.  That didn’t matter though.

I loaded up the car with everything I would need until New Years Day, and then some.  I am a planner.  I already had purchased two iced coffees on Sunday morning and had them in the refrigerator waiting for me for the drive.  I packed on Sunday.  I was ready.  I just wasn’t sure if the sleep would be a factor.  I made this trip many times last year.  It was easy.  And peaceful.  And relaxing.

sunrise on Highway 14

The trip from LA to Mammoth is about five hours.  I sucked down one iced coffee the first thirty minutes and not long after I sucked down the other one.  Two hours into the trip and I already drank the equivalent of six cups of coffee.  That shit wasn’t even phasing me so I stopped at about 5:30am and got a hot coffee at the usual gas station of Highway 14 where you have to turn.  This brand of coffee was labeled “extreme” for extra caffeine.  Like I needed it.

The sun was starting to come up.  I thought that would help me but it didn’t.  I was fading fast.  Finally I gave in and pulled over for a ten-minute power nap.  I pulled up next to a semi and let the car run.  I think I worried about carbon monoxide poisoning and it didn’t help me sleep.

That was it.  That was all I needed.  A seven-minute nap.  After that I felt like a million bucks.  I was cruising.  Me and the road.  I called my best pal Justin in Detroit and chit chatted with him for a bit.  That was cool.  We were planning our trip to Lakeland this spring to see the Detroit Tigers during spring training.  More on that later.

The next thing you know I feel like I am on crack.  I am still tired but I feel like I am strung out on drugs.  But like the day after you do the drugs.

Whatever.  I made the most of it.  I usually enjoy the crap out of that ride but this time I am not going to lie, it was a little tough.

I got into Mammoth Lakes around 10am and everything started to fall into place.  I called our condo and they let me check in early.  The only problem was when I stopped to talk to the property manager I couldn’t communicate because I was so edgy from the coffee.  I really felt like I was on crack.  I had to tell her I was not on drugs and that I am fueled with coffee and that I was sorry and that she had nothing to worry about and her condo would be fine.  Ha!

I dropped off all the stuff at the condo, ate, stopped at Wave Rave to get some new lenses for my goggles so I could see, and WHAM BAM DAMN!  It starts to snow.

was freaking snowing I tell you

Timing couldn’t have been better.  My buddy Chris and his girl met me at Canyon lodge around 11am and we were riding in minutes.  And it was snowing.  A lot.  Snowing so much that it was fairly hard to see.  So much that I felt like I was on a boat or a cloud.  So much I wanted to barf my first, second, and third run.  Maybe it was the coffee or the lack of sleep and food.  Actually, I think it was the Vertigo caused by lack of vision and stability caused by the weather and zero visibility.

Vertigo was kicking in...I was losing it

But we were SO smart that we went to a great little part of the mountain off Broadway and Chair 1 and I got some vision back and found more fresh powder.  We rode the shit out of that area until we could do no more.

Me, Chris, and Ang...ridin'

snow

 

Me and Foxy

I literally just stepped off the mountain and hour ago.  I rode my snowboard right up to the condo.  The road had snow on it so I was able to take the run all the way to the bottom.  It is dumping snow as I write this.  I am so glad I came up a day early.  I needed some alone time too.  I am going to sit here and watch the Vikings/Eagles game and hope to God that Percy Harvin and Jeremy Maclin do not accumulate 38 points between each other so I can win the Superbowl of my Fantasy Football League.  And then I am going to go to bed.

 

I am running on chocolate covered espresso beans that my brother introduced me to.  They sell them at Trader Joe’s.  This is dangerous.  I eat a lot of beans.  Those kinds of beans.

Is it the BEANS?

This week is going to rule.  My buddy Tanner gets here tomorrow, Liz and her friend on Friday, a ton of San Diego buddies, and my pals Devoy and Theron are DJ’ing at the NYE party at the Snow Creek Athletic Club Friday.  Oh and Leslie flies in Thursday.

I will keep you all posted.  I hope you all try to enjoy your holiday time as much as me.  You deserve it.  Everyone does.  I know I do.

Much love,

Lije and NBF

Leave a Reply

