Nut Bucket Films

Hunt and Sarki…shredding the AM

In Uncategorized on February 1, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Early morning skate session...

Ha Ha Ha!

That’s what it felt like at least.  Shredding.  My buddy Andrew Hunt who is now a “big-time” producer called me out on a post I had written a while back.  He said we needed to go skating.  So he showed up at my house this morning at 8am so we could hit the Venice skatepark before it got too busy.  Well, I also wanted to go early because I haven’t ridden the park in years and I used to be pretty good and I was afraid of getting embarrassed.  Honestly, I am not embarrassed because of what other people think.  It bothers me that I use to kind of rip it and now I am afraid I can’t do what I used to.  So it’s basically me not wanting to suck for my own well-being.  Same reason I don’t play video games anymore.  I used to destroy me some Mortal Kombat and Madden.  Now I get owned online by a three-year-old.  It has also been about ten years since I have consistently ridden a skateboard.  I mean, I ride my skateboard still, just not how I used to.  Not as many tricks and stuff, ya know?

So we rolled out at 8am.  Cruised over to the park.  I instantly dropped into the bowl and started messing around.  After about ten minutes of cruising, I shit you not, I was busting fatty kick-flips and heel-flips up off the wedges.  I still had my “pop” too!  I was so proud and pumped.

skating the wedge

This was honestly the best morning I have had in a long time.  I felt like I did back in the day.  It is sort of like getting in the ocean first thing in the morning.  It affects the rest of your day in such a positive and productive way.  I suggest to everyone to find that “something” that does it for you and start your day with that.

Andrew Hunt and myself...post shred

Then I went to Dogtown Crossfit and got my “work-out” on, dropped my car off to get fixed, and ran back four miles from the shop.  It is only noon in L.A.

Skateboarding rules.  We made a commitment to do this every week.  I made a commitment to get all my skills back by the end of February.  That’s if I don’t break something.  Thank gosh for SAG insurance.

I get to act tomorrow in my favorite scene from Underbelly with Vanessa Evigan.  Ryan Philander is directing.

Happy Tuesday,

Lije and Nut Bucket…

Leave a Reply

