Nut Bucket Films

Bees, Snakes, Cougars, Liz, and man-made Lake Perris

In Uncategorized on May 26, 2011 at 9:07 am

20110526-091250.jpg

see me in the middle?

see Liz in her yoga pose?

at the top, Terri Peak, Lake Perris...nuf said

So my super awesome roommate of the past year moved out last week. She really was one of the best. I will miss you, Eliana, and have a blast in NYC. But before she departed we were to visit her at her family’s restaurant in Riverside. She was there for a week and I had one free day, Tuesday. I need a wingman or wingwoman. A bribe? How about I find a great hike? “Liz, you wanna go to Riverside on this cool hike and eat at my old roomie’s restaurant? Oh and can you drive? My car gets three miles to the gallon. Sweet! OK, can you pick me up? Awesome. See you at 8:30am.” That was my end of the convo.

Turns out I spent the rest of the day searching for anything relatively close to the restaurant that might not suck to hike. Riverside? There is not a lot out there as far as hiking goes. At least not that close to where we were to eat. After hours of searching while slinging drinks I found “Lake Perris”. Turns out Liz had wanted to go to Lake Perris forever. Why? Who the f#$% knows? How did she even know it existed? Point is, she was an easy sell.

We were off. traffic wasn’t too bad. Leaving L.A. in the morning and returning in afternoon is against the normal flow so we were good. We got to the hike following some wonderful instructions from this hiker HERE. Great list of hikes in the L.A. area, I think. I only used it once.

The hike to the peak and back was only three miles. you could take the longer route and do the full up-and-down and then back again, but we were on a schedule. Plus we wanted to swim in Lake Perris! Thing is, everyone we asked about swimming said, “Ummmmmm, weeeeeeeelllllll, yeah, I guess, you could swim, Hey Jane, people swim down there?”

We cruised up that mountain. It was a sweet mountain too. Big ass boulders everywhere. One of the coolest hikes I have been on just because the terrain was so different than usual West L.A. hikes. It was like I was a Parkour guy jumping from boulder to boulder. Plus, I scaled this huge rock wall which ended up making almost shit myself. Thank god the rocks were like skateboard griptape. Check the photos. I am the tiny guy in the middle! Basically all there is to say is the hike was short and a bit vertical, which got the sweat flowing. Would have been hot as shit a month from now. And there are so many sweet-ass boulders to take creative pictures on that make it look like you were in the middle of somewhere you had never been…

Here is a little 360 degree view of the Terri Peak. We met these three country boys at the top. One had a big knife attached to his leg. Apparently they didn’t know there was a trail, and hiked straight up the mountain. Liz wanted to ask them to take a picture. I said maybe not.

After our special moments in the camera we jetted back down to the lake. There was not a soul in this whole park, by the way. Except three fisherman next to the watering hole called, Lake Perris.

The lake was being “blue-rocked” til noon so no one was allowed in it until afternoon. Well, it was 12:30 and we were ready for a swim. HA! What is “blue-rocked”? I am not going to google that. Too scared.

It was actually quite warm. And we were so dang itchy from the hike that is was unbelievably refreshing. They had showers to wash off the grime that my old roommate later told me about. I guess growing up, NO ONE SWAM IN THAT LAKE. She was like, “Eww, gross, it’s so dirty, and polluted.” Great! Thanks park rangers for telling us it’s ok. Well, it is Thursday and I have no unusual rashes. Maybe an itch or two, but I am sure it will pass. We did almost die by a swarm of killer bees though. Gladly Liz was trained to drop to the sand when a swarm comes through. I stood there laughing.

Liz, a little dirty from dropping to the sand for BEES

Ok, I am glad this shit happened when we left each and every section of the excursion. First an information stand telling us about the “mountain lions” that are on the hike and what to do if attacked! WTF?! We saw that at the entrance to the hike on our way OUT of the hike. And let’s not forget the NASCAR driving skills from Liz as she dodged hitting a giant rattlesnake on the road out of Lake Perris.

Mountain Lions? Seriously...

We left Lake Perris having a good ol’ time. We headed to Papi’s Tacos. Eliana’s mother is so sweet! Oh my goodness. She made us the best lunch. I forgot the name of what I had. It was like a giant soft tostada with an almost fried bun-type bottom and carne asada, beans, and guacamole all over it. Was so good. Liz got a fish taco that was awesome. We ate something similar to that of an elephant ear from a fair for an appetizer. We sat and talked to Eliana, my ex-roomie for a while as well. She is in law school so this was the most we had chatted in six months. Crazy. Love you Eliana, and have fun in NYC!

Check out the pics. I guess I am turning into an adventure dude. Hikes every week, Burgers, Catalina, oh and film festivals! I knew I was being productive. It’s time to make another movie.

Thanks for reading folks!

Lije and NBF!

20110526-091419.jpg

20110526-091403.jpg

20110526-091330.jpg

20110526-091319.jpg

20110526-091307.jpg

20110526-091223.jpg

20110526-091211.jpg

20110526-091148.jpg

20110526-091135.jpg

20110526-091120.jpg

Leave a Reply

