Nut Bucket Films

SUCCESS, a great start to June, premieres and festivals galore

In Uncategorized on June 3, 2011 at 10:45 am

DANCES WITH FILMS opening night

20110603-103019.jpg

What’s my theme? What’s my theme? That’s gonna be in my dang head for a month until I figure this shit out! Thanks Justin…

Well the theme for this weekend and the next is SUCCESS. This is what all the hard work is for, people. This is why I bust my balls almost everyday. So I get to share what I did. All that blood, sweat, and tears paid off. Of course it was with the help of a bunch of other people. Just look at the movie poster of CLOSING DOORS and you can see a smidgen of them. You will have to come see the movie to see the rest, in the credits. wink, wink.

We kicked off an awesome weekend last night at the opening night party for DANCES WITH FILMS film festival here in L.A. They threw a nice little get-together at FALCON bar and restaurant in Hollywood. Loads of filmmakers showed up. I met a bunch I didn’t know and surprisingly saw a bunch of people I did. Actually not too surprising, this world is so small just when you think it isn’t. Funny, I met a guy that my girl knew from some project a few years back who has a movie in the festival, and co-stars a girl I studied with, but also knows my roommate in college at Michigan State who is also from my hometown of Traverse City, MI, like really knows him, hangs out with him. He popped off the question, “You are from Traverse City? You know ‘so and so’?” You mean my roommate in college? What the hell? Crazy. That’s just a taste.

Me and that same guy, Matt, shot the shit for a while. Chatting about how great this stuff is. A bunch of passionate filmmakers in a room. A REAL Indie crowd. Everyone supporting everyone. Outside of a lot of normal L.A. hoopla of “gimme this, or what can you do for me?”, yada yada…this is more, “When is your film playing? Where you from? Check this out? This is my story! Dude, that’s crazy! Wait, your company’s name is CAKEBABY? Mine is NUT BUCKET! We gotta make a movie together…ha, ha, ha”.

Just a great feeling. I was supported by my girlfriend, co-producer, and publicist last night. They brought their game too. Adrienne is a superstar. She works for Inside Edition and is helping me with PR. She runs around like crazy and chit-chats with everyone. “Meet this person, meet that one, oh, I am going to talk to him or her”, she is great.

I am grateful, man. I get to premiere my film in a theatre in L.A. in front of almost 300 people. My writer, William Wanek, is flying out here for a festival that truly rocks and supports the shit out of itself and each other. The festival founders have become good friends of mine. I hug Michael and Leslie every time I see them. They are so supportive of Indie film. True Indie film. My feature ALPHONSO BOW premiered here two years ago and is now getting a national release June 21st from Vanguard Cinema. It will be in about a 1000 stores nationwide and online everywhere. The link says Netflix, so keep looking. On a special note about this film. One of the stars, Jeffrey Pierce, has a new show coming out on TV called “Alcatraz”. Check it out. Also another star, Kasey Buckley, is in a newly signed band called MISS WILLIE BROWN and has been touring the country with Dierks Bentley. They should have a record out soon. SUCCESS!

Next weekend we are off to Saugatuck, MI to premiere at WATERFRONT FILM FESTIVAL. This is a crème de la crème
festival of the Midwest. I like to say it is a SUNDANCE of the midwest. It is a little lake town and the whole city partakes, kind of like Park City does for Sundance. They do a bunch of lake-type fun, outdoor concerts, and crazy parties, lots of parties. We are in unbelievable company there. The quality of films is amazing. I never use that word either. It has been a goal of mine for years to get to show a movie at this festival. And now we have it. We open for a feature that has Bryan Cranston in it. Pretty dope. I can’t wait to share what happens there.

Just when you start to think you have fallen off track a bit or been on hiatus for a month, the next two weeks kick in. That’s what I am motha’ f#$%in’ talking about. SUCCESS. Makes you wake up and smell that sweat. You smile. You start to look forward to what’s next. Man, I am excited about it too. Because I know this is just a small piece of what I am driving to. It is only still the beginning. Moving forward, always, with knowledge and skill-set, and there is a big and bright future ahead.

So if you are in L.A., come out and see the movie we worked on. CLOSING DOORS. It is playing at the Laemmle Sunset 5 at 5pm Sunday the 5th. That’s a lot of 5’s. It is at 8000 Sunset Blvd. in West Hollywood, CA. here is a link to the press release. Closing Doors Press Kit

If you are in Michigan next week, come to Saugatuck. We play Friday the 10th at 7pm and Saturday the 11th at 9pm at 400 Culver Street. Closing Doors Press Kit

Here are a bunch of pictures from last night and a some stuff from Nut Bucket Films, movie posters and our new icon.

Thanks for continued support from everyone. It continues to help me continue down a path that is full of boulders and rivers and alligators and sharks and obstacles that try to stop me everyday. Personal and exterior. But it is a weekend like this or next that prove to make it all worth it. SUCCESS. That’s for you Justin.

much love,

Lije

20110603-102935.jpg

20110603-102952.jpg

20110603-103005.jpg

20110603-103042.jpg

20110603-103058.jpg

20110603-103030.jpg

20110603-103012.jpg

  1. One of my all time favs of your blog. Justin is right, the theme thing is working…thoroughly impressed by your hard work. It def pays off. Sooooo goooood.

  2. Such a wonderful message! Great to hear of your success!!

  3. Just saw “Closed Doors” at Dances With Films. Beautiful film, well written, shot, acted, and edited. Congrats!
    Chris Desmond
    Hazelnut
    Dances With Films Offficial Selection 2011.

  4. […] has been a couple of weeks since Closing Doors premiered here in L.A. at Dances With Films (DWF). I was going through my notes on my phone today and totally forgot about the breakfast that […]

Leave a Reply

